SlowCooker Back Ribs recipe


I’ll lay it out right now for everyone to read, after all they say that admission is the first step in recovery. I am, for lack of a better term “addicted” to anything pork. That’s right, give me a juicy pork roast, some crispy bacon or a heaping pile of baby back ribs and I’m in a very happy place, a pork induced nirvana if you will.

Simply put, the pig is without a doubt far and away my favorite edible animal. Any dish that uses it is generally headed right to the top of my list in many restaurants, especially if it’s had any intimate contact with a hot grill and is bathed in some sort of sauce, chief among these being BBQ. Having said that, winter is not the best time to suffer a craving for anything grilled – and let’s face it, I can be really lazy at times (ok, many times) therefore braising or any other form of cooking that involves me being vertical for what I’ll term as a “protracted” length of time (more than say 10 minutes) is occasionally completely out of the question.  So if  by terrible chance the two of these situations unhappily converge in some sort of snowy, lethargic moment of cosmic happenstance (like they have today) and I want to indulge my desire- no, my need for pig in all its tender, porky goodness I’m going to have to improvise a little.

This recipe is made for just such desperate moments. Since we do own a slow cooker- although not my favorite method of culinary creation, I will employ it here as a means to an end, namely to provide me- and perhaps you dear reader, with yummy, tender, saucy pork for dinner with as little energy expenditure as humanly possible. This meal, while certainly not true BBQ or grilling in any way will (for the time being at least) satiate my pork fueled lust.

So enough chatting, time to get started. Here piggy, piggy…

Feeds 2-4 depending on depth of “problem”.

Ingredients:

  • 2 racks (approx. 12-2 pc segments) pork back ribs, Membrane removed
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp liquid smoke, hickory (optional)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 cup/can cola
  • 1 bottle beer (nothing too heavy. I use Hoegaarden)
  • 1 bottle BBQ sauce, sweeter is better.

Method:

  1. Cut ribs into 2 bone sections and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl combine brown sugar, liquid smoke, garlic, salt and pepper.
  3. One piece at a time, thoroughly coat each rib piece with mixture and place on a plate.
  4. Cover ribs with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour.
  5. Spray inside of slow cooker with no-stick spray.
  6. Dust ribs with cayenne and layer with onion in slow-cooker.
  7. Cover ribs with cola and beer being careful not to wash coating off.
  8. Cook for 4 hours on high or 6 hours on low setting.
  9. Remove ribs and discard fluid from cooker.
  10. Place ribs back in cooker and cover with BBQ sauce, cook for an additional 1 hour on low heat.
6 responses to “SlowCooker Back Ribs recipe

  1. I have some ribs that need to be cooked and this looks like a recipe worth trying. Do you have a recommendation on a beer (dark, light, ale, lager etc…)? Also since racks come in all sizes ( :-) ) can your equate this rib rack in lbs or kgs as an average. Another way would be how many 2 bone ribs are there in this recipe.

    Thanks.
    Stuart

    3mealsaday.wordpress.com

    • Recipe updated. Thanks for the comment Stuart, I’ve made changes that answer your questions. Let me know what you think if you try these. I have a batch on the go as I write this.

      By the way “racks” are another issue, but one which shall remain unelaberated on. :)

  2. We had these yesterday and liked them. They took a bit longer in our slow cooker and I added a little bit more liquid. I would never have thought to cook them this way. Did the idea start somewhere else? If you don’t mind I will add them to our recipe database with a pointer to credit the source. It will just add to the many recipes from Canada that started with my grandmothers cookbook, Three meals a day (1941, 2nd edition)

    Thanks again for sharing the recipe.

    • I actually have a cola ribs recipe and I was wondering about making it or something similar with a slow cooker (for the reasons mentioned in the post). I went online and found out how rib recipes like this are made and then created this one, basing it (somewhat) on my original. Go right ahead and add the recipe to your database.

  3. Pingback: » Slow Cooker Ribs

  4. These ribs were absolutely phenominal. I made some the other day, minus the cayenne and liquid smoke, were great. Now I am making another batch right now with cayenne and liquid smoke, hopefully the with the added ingredients they taste just as good.

Leave a Reply

