Hooters review


While this certainly is not a “restaurant” and generally I don’t review bars/pubs/etc I feel compelled to do so on this one occasion. I really wish I’d had my camera for this.

I used to really enjoy going out a couple of times per month and indulging in a heaping pile of chicken wings and a wobbly-pop or three. These days I refrain from doing so more than say once a year due to my having discovered just how bad these tasty treats are for me.

So recently I caved in and having not done the “wing thing” in more than a year I justified treating myself to a limited number, in this case only 20. (hey , that’s nothing I’ve downed 120 before)

I didn’t feel like hunting around for a place and being only a few blocks from the NE Hooters location I figured they would do in satisfying my unhealthy urges on this particular occasion (hey I’m referring to the chicken wings here, okay?).

I ordered 20 “naked” wings -hot of course- a beer and some onion rings. The waitress was nice and brought me a paper to read while I waited. My beer was brought right away as well.

When the wings came I had to take a minute to let what I saw sink in, I have never seen chicken wings that were so small in my life. I remember having this same order at this very location in the past and receiving a hot, heaping pile of big wings that covered the platter it was served on. This scattering of pigeon-esque flight appendages was a mere shadow of what I’d expected and sat one or two deep in the middle of the mostly vacant platter. Now I was hungry and while disappointed I still ate these sad little flappers and drumettes, I did have to adjust my technique however as it proved difficult to even separate the tips and bones. It was impossible to just pick one up and eat as just to get a grip on the things was very difficult since most of it was covered with my not exactly sausage-like fingers. Now you know what a “drumette” is supposed to look like right? Yeah, a smaller version of a drumstick. Well these looked more like fingers, no plump piece of meat to bite off just a slight bump of mostly skin.

If these did in fact come from chickens I can just see the farm-yard and what it looked like while these things were alive…. They probably sat in front of the x-box all day long and were the ones chosen last for dodge-ball at school. You know, the skinny nerdy guys the other chickens picked on all the time, who developed slowly and I’m guessing had no breasts to speak of.

All kidding aside this was a very expensive and pathetic serving of skin and bones covered with hot sauce. The rings were actually pretty good and while over-priced I did enjoy them. Likewise for the beer, I got the brand I wanted and it was fresh and cold but also more money than it should have been. All in for the 20 wings, rings and two beer I paid over $40 and gave a $5 tip to the waitress who did provide good service (get your mind out of the gutter).

For the nearly $50 per person it cost for this truly sad meal I can go almost anywhere in the city and dine on actual food that is well made and fills me up. I will take a little more time in deciding where to get my next wing-fix and am never going to darken the door of Hooters ever again.

Hooters (2730 23 St) on Urbanspoon

8 responses to “Hooters review

  1. Huh. I haven’t had the occasion to visit Hooters for wings, but I have heard friends tell me how generous the orders are and the quality was high. Mind you this was like ten years ago, clearly it’s gone downhill.

    • I don’t know if they have cheaped out or if they got a bad batch from a distributor but I’ve never seen so little meat or such small wings anywhere and I’ve been around.
      As with your friends I’ve had the same in the past.

  2. If the service was good, then why leave a 12% tip instead of 15 or 20? Just curious. I always thought that it was normal to tip at least 15% for good service. Just wanting to find out what people think about tipping. Of course employers should pay these servers more , but since they don’t I feel compelled, willingly , to tip what is expected.
    James

    • James, I tend to be one of those who need to enjoy the meal in addition to the service being okay. This may not be the norm but it’s what I do.
      I also have the belief that a tip is not a “must do” and should be earned so will leave one (not always large) only if the service was what one might expect or better. If the service is exceptional so shall be the tip. I’ve had great service and paid $50 on a $180 bill, so I’m not cheap. I just want to have a level of service any customer deserves.
      The server at Hooters was nice and gave me good basic service so I left a fair tip. If she’d gone out of her way for the few customers in the store instead of spending her free time sitting and chatting with friends I may have done more despite the poor meal. If she’d not given the service she did and spent even more time sitting and talking I’d not have left anything.
      This will offend the servers out there and really bug the ones who believe they should be tipped whether they give any service at all, but we all have to work for our money and I can’t declare only a fraction of my income and get away with it like they can.

  3. Very fair comment. I’ve been known to tip nothing at times , but very rarely. I find a nickel and a few pennies to be be effective in making the point that I have been badly served. Maybe a bit rude but considering how much we pay sometimes and what we get in return at some places, I feel it is justified.
    That said ,I do most often tend to tip 20% or more. I think it is because ,Like many people, I’ve paid too much for bad service to many times. So when I do receive good service I appreciate it more so and I tip well . Many young waiters these days have this sense of entitlement and think they should be tipped regardless of what level of service they provide. Tipping those waiters just nurtures this feeling of entitlement.
    I understand that in some establishments it can be hard work and there are many many servers who bust their butts everyday to earn a few bucks . And it is usually easy to know who they are. You get great service. They know how it works. Hard work and great service gets you more money. Simple.

    I do cut waiters some slack for bad service when they are clearly too busy for one person. Some managers and restaurant owners often understaff their establishments to protect their bottom line in the short term. They fail to realize that everyone loses in the end. The staff, the customer, and eventually that coveted bottom line all suffer.
    RuneRider, thank you for replying. I love your website. Keep up the great work. Have a great weekend in snowy Calgary.

    James

    • I agree with your method and the reasons for it. I also agree that the owners/managers are also often to blame when they try to save money by under-staffing. Chronic under-staffing is also one of the signs of a failing business… but that’s a different post.

  4. P.S.
    I wonder if public service employees worked for tips how would the level of service change ? mmmmm just a thought. No offense to the hard working gov’t employees out there.

Leave a Reply

