Pork Liver Pâté (for Bánh mì) Recipe


Having scoured the internet trying to find a recipe for the basic Pâté used in making Bánh mì sandwiches I decided that there are none that are the simple Vietnamese version that one will get from a Bánh mì shop. So, I came up with two versions of a basic Pâté to satisfy all those looking for the same thing. The Pâté that is used for these sandwiches is soft and contains both pork liver and pork meat which is what gives it the great texture we all love. I’ve tried to replicate that here and while these recipes are not authentic they do provide a texture and taste that approximates the real thing.

These are works in progress, if you make a change that works,  please let me know.

Open a printable version

From scratch version

Ingredients

  • 8 oz pork liver, cubed
  • 5 oz cooked pork, chopped
  • 2 cloves Garlic minced
  • 1 onion,  finely diced
  • 6 tablespoons Butter
  • 1 pinch Salt & pepper

Method

  1. Sauté onion and garlic gently with 2 tbsp of butter for 2 minutes.
  2. Add liver and cook for about 3-4 minutes. remove from heat.
  3. Place mixture in a blender, add remaining butter, salt and pepper then blend until smooth.
  4. Put liver mixture in a medium bowl, add pork and mix until well combined.

Using store bought items


Ingredients

  • 1 cup of coarse ground, soft liver spread, room temp.
  • 5 oz of headcheese, chopped
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • ¼ cup onion, chopped fine

Method

  1. Over medium heat sauté the onion butter for 2 minutes.
  2. Reduce heat to medium-low, add liver spread and headcheese, mixing until blended.
  3. pour mixture into a bowl and cool to room temperature.
10 responses to “Pork Liver Pâté (for Bánh mì) Recipe

  1. I love the pate in banh mi sandwiches..never thought I could make it myself. I will have to try this sometime soon. Thanks for the recipe. =)

    • Glad I could help, I posted these recipes because there seems to be no other source on the net. I recently made a batch of the not from scratch Pâté and those I served it to loved it. This is the easier of the two and does work really well. Play with the amounts and even leave out the garlic as I did to see what it would be like. I’ve also dropped the amount of butter in the recipe.

  2. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I’m always looking for an easy liver spread recipe to duplicate. Your recipes look so easy and tasty. They never give me enough pate at the store or maybe I can never have enough 🙂

    • Thank you for the comment Hong. If you use the recipes please let me know of any changes you made and how they turned out. I generally make the one that does not use fresh raw liver and it works well. I’ve amended it several times and I believe it is ready for prime time.
      You’re lucky to live in the bay area, you have access to so much great food.

      As far as not getting enough pate on my Bánh mì, I tend to put far more on my own home made version then I ever get at a shop. 🙂

  3. I wonder if I can substitute chicken liver for pork liver? thanks

  4. your recipe is ok, instead of using cooked liver and cooked pork, use a fresh liver and pork. Then combine them in food processor with other ingredients for a few minutes. Put them in pan and bake for 45 minutes or until done.
    This will give you much better flavor than using cooked meat and liver.

  5. My god i finally found u here, i been looking for this pate recipe. I am so glad u have put this up. Thanks a bunch!

  6. Where did you buy your headcheese from?

Leave a Reply

