Egg Salad BLT Sandwich recipe


I’ve always enjoyed sandwiches and while the cutting down of bread in my life has curbed my eating of them, sometimes I just need to indulge.

This is not a “Tried & True” recipe that I’ve used for years but rather one I came up with on the fly in order to use up some eggs in the fridge and also the bread that was leftover from some other kitchen adventures. Because of this I hope anyone who plays with this recipe will let me know what worked for them.

Why would I post a recipe that has not been tested often and proven to be great? the answer is simple…. It’s my blog and I liked this enough to want to share it. 🙂

I cannot say exactly how many sandwiches this will make but I’d go with 3 since the two I had were fairly full.

Ingredients:

For the egg mixture

  • 4 eggs, hard-boiled
  • ¼ cup mayonnaise
  • 1 rib of celery, chopped
  • ¼ medium onion, chopped
  • ½ red bell pepper, seeded & chopped
  • 1 tbsp dill pickle, chopped
  • ½ tbsp yellow mustard
  • ½ tsp dill weed
  • ½ tsp paprika
  • ¼ tsp lemon juice
  • ¼ tsp cayenne
  • salt and pepper to taste

For the sandwich

  • 6 slices of your favorite bread, toasted
  • 3 leaves of green lettuce
  • 1 large tomato, sliced
  • 6 slices of bacon, halved

Method:

  1. interestingly it’s better to start with eggs that are several days old. Using fresh eggs will lead to them being annoying to peel.
  2. Place eggs in a saucepan and cover them with cold water, about 2 inches over the tops. Don’t salt the water or add vinegar. Place over HIGH heat.
  3. Bring the water to a boil and cook for 3 minutes.
  4. Remove the pot from the heat, cover and let sit for 8 minutes.
  5. While the eggs are cooking fry up your bacon.
  6. Once the eggs are done run cold water over them for about a minute, fill the pot and let them soak to cool off for ten minutes. They will peel better if you cool them in the refrigerator for about an hour or if you cooked them the day before.
  7. Chop the eggs and vegetables to your desired size and put in a medium bowl.
  8. Add remaining ingredients and combine well. If you mince the veggies in a machine I found the mix will be too moist.

Assembly:

  1. Place a slice of lettuce on each top half of bread and cover with 2 slices of tomato and 4 half slices of bacon.
  2. Coat bottoms with egg salad mixture and add salt and pepper if desired.
  3. Ahhh… who am I kidding? just put them together and eat ’em.
Leave a Reply

