A Travelling Foodie Down Under- Chapter 2


Yes the burgers worked out. After locating buns that were like the ones we use back in Canada and also finding “Gourmet” patties that were 65% off and also not the size of a post-it note (thus not needing to make my own) things went great. The only real change was the bacon. More on that n a sec.

The differences that this simple meal could have had are small but I’m still happy to have been able to a create comfort food that was nearly identical to what I’d have made back home. As I said I was looking for and found buns like you can buy in Canada. Not that there is anything wrong with Aussie burger rolls as they call them. On the contrary, we both have enjoyed using these thin, fluffy and great tasting rollsbuns in the past, I just wanted the feel of home. As for the patties, while I was going to simply make my own I happened on a freezer that held some higher priced seafood and other items and noticed the red sticker on the normally $21 pack of 6 high-end burgers. This was a no-brainer and so bought 2 packs. I love that Aussie burger patties are sold fresh and in different flavours but they are very small and shrink even further when cooked. This is not good when the buns are the size of a kaiser (messes with the ratio).

In the last post I mentioned that I’d explain the quotes around the word bacon. I should say that what is served here is in fact bacon but it’s in a different guise to what we’re accustomed to in North America. There are a few different bacon types Baconthat I can pick up in the local markets. The first is the Rasher style (bottom right) that anyone who travels has likely seen before in places like Britain. This bacon consists of the loin which is very similar to Back or Canadian Bacon as well as the fat strip it attaches to. In Aussie the loin alone is known as “Short Cut” bacon and can be bought separately (this is what I often buy). Third is “Middle Bacon”, consisting of rashers with the loin removed. This looks rather like what we would call bacon in North America and when I first traveled to Britain many years ago I found it amusing to think upon seeing the rashers that English bacon was a combination of American and Canadian bacon (okay, it was amusing only to me) but I was wrong about it.

The wondrous and at the same time horrible thing we refer to as Bacon in Canada is actually cured and sliced pork belly. (I can still get it if I look here, they refer to it in the markets as “Streaky” Bacon but it’s less common) Rashers and Canadian bacon come from the shoulder and back areas of the pig respectively. So, what we have is bacon from three different areas of the animal and each with it’s own characteristics. Canadian bacon for example is very lean. Rashers while they contain some fat are still slightly leaner than the pork belly bacon that we are so very addicted too.

I don’t want to offend those who love their Rashers, personally I like them a great deal as well.  They are however not a superior item. It could be argued that the cut of meat is better but the end product is what counts here. When I read or hear from Aussies that it’s superior to what they often call “mostly fat” all I can do is smile, they’re loss. Pork Belly has been used as a form of currency and the market even today is an active futures exchange. As for the notion that there is too much fat on it… I’ll concede that often the lower quality brands of bacon can be mostly fat but “lower quality” anything is just that. A good quality bacon which is smoked and thick cut is truly a beautiful thing and is for those who love food to pork products as highly marbled Wagyu is to beef. Often times in cooking with meat “The Fat Is Were It’s At”. It may not be healthy, but its addictive in both taste & smell and can truly make a dish once added. Everything’s better with bacon.

Yes, I’m aware the internet photo of the bacon shows what appears to be ham and not actual Canadian Bacon. 

Leave a Reply

